Sunday

I have been giving Sundays a lot of thought lately. Kind of odd, really. I experience 52 of them a year and have my entire life, so why the day has taken up so much of my thoughts lately is a puzzle. It might be that, for many, Sunday acts as the 7th Day, the day of Sabbath, day of rest. Different religions and different cultures view it differently, but almost every faith system I am aware of observes some sort of rest. So as a Christian in America…why don’t I?

It’s important, but we’ve stopped viewing it as such. Instead, we are often made to feel guilty if every available ounce of our time is not spent in one productive endeavor or another. I tend towards laziness. I would rather spend my entire day on a couch or a hammock reading than doing just about anything else. After college, I had to get beyond this if I wanted to eat (and stay married), so I took it to the other extreme. I would beat myself up over a day spent doing nothing. I would then swim in guilt, which would cause me to float into depression, in which state it is nearly impossible to do anything but nothing. Awful cycle, right? 

Yesterday afternoon, we unplugged (minus the camera) and enjoyed an afternoon of nothing much. Spent some time on the lake, but didn’t take any toys, no tubes, no skis, nothing to learn, and yet…

IMG_2097

G-Money learned how to dive…as best one can in a life jacket.

IMG_2095

AnnaJane learned how to swim to daddy all by herself.

IMG_2100

We learned ducks want to be your friend if there is food on your boat.

IMG_2111

And that turtles have a similar notion.

(we also learned from our resident Dr. Dolittle, Willy Man, why it is important NOT to give in to their begging. For those interested it is because you never know how they will react to human food and it reduces their urge to hunt for themselves)

IMG_2113

We learned life is better when you relax.

IMG_0674

And fun can be had without an iPad. (or DS3, or Wii, or Leapster…)

IMG_0682

We learned that rest is sometimes the most important thing that happened all week.

Here’s to Sunday, whatever day that may be for you.

By the seventh day God had finished the work he had been doing; so on the seventh day he rested from all his work. Then God blessed the seventh day and made it holy, because on it he rested from all the work of creating that he had done.” (Genesis 2:2-3 NIV)

5 thoughts on “Sunday

  1. Crystal says:

    Great post. I am reading “The Rest of God” by Mark Buchanan. Highly recommend, great book on the topic of Sabbath.

Leave a Reply

