Crafty

We have finished our first week of homeschooling…and survived. I feel like I should make a t-shirt. Oh wait, I did! Check it y’all. I got my craft on. Anyone who knows me knows that even the word “craft” sends cold chills down my spine. I have friends who have entire rooms dedicated to all things crafty. I don’t spend time at their houses lest they get any ideas that involve me, glue guns, and scrapbook paper.

For my kids though, I realize I’m going to have to face this fear. Monet we are not, but not bad for our first try.

Star Boxes

We knew we would be ending the week by spending time with my Aunt and Uncle, so we decided to make them 4th of July themed boxes. Our unit study this week was on the American flag, so we spray painted star shaped boxes we got at Hobby Lobby with blue metallic spray paint. Then I gave each boy red and white acrylic paint and let them create whatever they want. Willy-man did the flag, G-Money attempted the flag as well. I’ve decided not to tell him it looks like Japan’s. Susanna and I used straws to create fireworks on her little box.
IMG_0297

IMG_0296

Patriotic Tie Dye shirts

Every year I feel like I am running around on July 3rd trying to pick up red, white and blue gear for the kids to wear on the 4th. This year we planned ahead and decided to tie dye our own. G-Money wanted a Captain America themed shirt, and we found this website that gave us a how-to.

Captain America Themed Tie Dye DIY

I thought the instructions were pretty straight forward, but I made a couple of changes. I used rubber bands instead of zip ties. Who has those lying around? She also used some fancy thing called a ciricut to create the star. Round these parts we ain’t so fancy so I used construction paper and scissors.
IMG_0286
We started by selecting several plates and bowels of differing sizes to give us the target.

IMG_0288
Then we used a pencil to sketch around each.
Once that is done you pick up the t-shirt from the center of the target and put rubber bands around each line you drew. Then dye to your specifications. Again, no fancy craft thingy to give me the perfect star so I used a cookie cutter and scissors.
IMG_0304
We just used basic spray paint, and voila.

IMG_0305

The other kids chose different designs, but I thought all turned out pretty well.

I’m not going to create my own craft haven any time soon, but this was rather fun.

Happy Independence Day!

IMG_0309

Leave a Reply

